So we had an interesting event happen during a fight with a Spectator. A player cast a radius spell with a constitution save (Shatter) the Spectator made the save meaning Spell Reflection kicked in. Now Shatter makes a radius but doesnt target a specific creature. We ruled at the time that the Spectator could move the spell to "target" an area. Was this the correct rule since Shatter doesnt target a specific creature and Spell Reflection's wording says it needs to target a creature?
"Spell Reflection. If the spectator makes a successful saving throw against a spell, or a spell attack misses it, the spectator can choose another creature (including the spellcaster) it can see within 30 feet of it. The spell targets the chosen creature instead of the spectator. If the spell forced a saving throw, the chosen creature makes its own save. If the spell was an attack, the attack roll is rerolled against the chosen creature."
I think what you did sounds correct. Spell Reflection doesn't say the spell needs to target a creature, it says the spectator can choose/target a creature with the reflected version of the spell. Hopefully that makes sense.